h1

Diamonds for mom. :)

December, 26, 2008

My family doesn’t really celebrate Christmas but yes we do make an effort to make use of the good and valid reason to celebrate. The celebration is sometimes for reasons and mostly without reasons, and in-spite this fact we all are really happy to enjoy a midnight cake piece and some good food and all this is mostly planned by my baby brother, for whom we have slipped many gifts for years with messages from Santa to ‘STUDY HARD’ but the only thing that got hard was ‘to make him study’.  Now he has grown up and knows it was us and he still loves to decorate the tree and have some fun. So this year was again the same, some cake and goodies and then we watched a Disney movie till late, woke up late the next morning and by mid-noon got out of the house to visit some malls and look at the decorations around.

I did mention that I got an a yearly appraisal and bonus, though haven’t really received it in my account (will on 31st Dec) but yes i told mom she could buy some stuff for herself from the bonus money. She is very fond of ‘DIAMONDS’ and although we were amongst the rich people when dad was around, i don’t know why she didn’t buy them. Anyways, so we went to the mall and were looking around the jwellery counters, we found some really nice earrings and there was some good offers going on so we asked mom to buy the jewellery. She was bit skeptical ( as usual) and said we should think about it and that the money was much more than my bonus amount and we should inquire about the brand and blah blah blah. But me and sis convinced her that all was good and if would do away worth some of her old jewellery that she hardly wears she could take this. She was confused but said yes, so we got her a pair of diamond earrings, a diamond and gold ring (on which we got a great off and looked fabulous on my hand too) and then a free diamond pendant (that we still need to collect, as they were finished with the stock). So she was sooo happy. I think I have been hearing this from childhood, mom would always tell us ” You gonna get mummy Big Big Diamond earnings when you grow up?” and we would say ‘Yes mummy’. She always told that to me, sis and even my brother. I don’t know if it was the materialism that she wanted Diamonds or it was her way of reminding us not to forget about her when we have enough for ourselves. I think she always looked at the materialistic side of it and she didn’t realize that her heart wanted to keep her babies close to her and always love her, i think she still doesn’t realize that how important we are to her, coz she always shows that we are not (except for my brother).

Anyways so we did get her the Big Diamonds earrings ( only one big coz they are average big), even though she had to pool in but feels good to have contribute to that. So i guess this means that we love her a lot even after growing up(I’m not comfortable with that word) being independent.

Leave a comment