h1

How to be just Supportive?

March, 28, 2008

I’ve been facing this problem for sometime now in my life. It happens when you care about a person and they are either following a wrong path, inspite of your advices and warnings, or when they are repeating unproductive and uselesss conversations and repeatedly for a long time.

It so happens that my impulsiveness cannot be calmed and controlled and I mouth every bit of my thought. My sister broke up with her BoyFriend of 5 months and ever since she’s met him all she talks about his him. That was understandable as is obvious, but instead of my reminding her not to get involved so deeply she did and got hurt badly, the guy ditched her for some rich NRI female.

I know it must be hard on her, but now its been months and all she talk is abusing the guy and questions like ‘why did he do this?’. Its not only frustating but intolerable. I want her to feel smart and happy and confident and like she deserves so much better and can get any decent guy she wants. but i end up telling her ‘listen can you talk about something else, coz i can’t take this rubbish anymore’./ She tells me imnot supportive.

Maybe yes im not, but i am in bad times and thats what matters. Im sorry if i cant take peope feeling helpless when they are not and crying over something for soo long that you forget what it actually was, and dying for the guy who made a fool of you right in your face and you let him.

I have been accused of not being supportive before by many of my close friends. But the truth is im trying to be supportive but i just don’t know how to ???

Leave a comment